Posted by: Marisa | December 31, 2011

2011 Year In Review

Unlike 2009 and 2010, I’m not running away from 2011. It was an awesome year and I’m simply doing what I can to enjoy the last few hours of it.

2011 Year In Review (the good and the bad):

January: We started our fourth and final IVF attempt and there was a lot riding on this round. Our final round…even if it didn’t work. I didn’t want to throw in the towel but I knew deep down that we had to pick a time to stop trying for our own baby and start considering other options. The toll that IVF takes on a person and on a marriage is astronomical and it had worn us down. So this was it.

February: Two days before my 30th birthday we found out I was pregnant and a few weeks later we found out we were having twins! We were shocked about it being twins, which surprises people since everyone assumes that IVF ends with multiple babies. I’ll write more about that in another post.

March: My gram passed away…not exactly a positive highlight in my year. I wanted so badly for her to meet these boys, to know that one of them is named after my grandfather, and to hold them in her arms. Had I gotten pregnant in the years we were trying all of these would have happened – another cruel infertility blow – but she knew I was having twins and that made her so happy in her final days. Her picture is in the nursery and I feel her with me all the time and call on her when I need her advice and support.

Nine Months: Pregnancy was awesome and I enjoyed every second of it…until 37 weeks. By that point I was the size of a torpedo and was ready to meet these boys.

September: The boys were born happy and healthy…well, they were born screaming and crying but they were healthy.

The Rest of The Year: I’ve been lucky enough to spend the past three months at home with the boys and it has been awesome! They’ve completely stolen my heart and even during the sleepless nights I’ve been able to appreciate just how lucky we are to have them in our lives. Even as I sit here I have a sleeping Jack in my arms…Love it!

…with all of the good that happened in 2011 I’m not in a huge rush to see it end but I have high hopes that 2012 will bring just as much happiness.

Happy New Year!

I wish for you a year filled with all you hope for.

Leave a Reply

Categories

