Posted by: Marisa | February 10, 2012

Unwanted Milestones

I knew it had to happen eventually but the Mister is heading back to work on Monday and I think it stinks. Having him home with the boys for six weeks while I transitioned back to work was awesome for him and hugely helpful for our family. We have a nice routine. We get up at 6am, feed the boys while the Mister showers, then I shower while he burps them and back to their cribs they go. Then I have some quiet time to get ready for work while the three of them snuggle in for a little more sleep. After work I head straight home to a clean house prepped with two calm babies and some form of dinner being cooked.

Starting on Monday even a predictable day will be a lot more hectic. I have no idea how much longer it’s going to take to get two babies up, packed, and out the door for daycare but I have a feeling it’s going to take awhile – even if I do most of the prep-work the night before.  I’m worried that most of the daycare responsibilities are going to fall on me which is fine, but if things get hectic at work or I’m having a crazy day and then I have to be the sole person to pick up and drop off the kids I think it could become a big struggle. But the Mister works 45 minutes away and we only have one car that fits two car seats so we’re really out of options.

And I worry about it because even a predictable day seems like a lot but imagine what is going to happen when they start to pick up the ozzy-nasty-snotty-scummy-daycare sicknesses! Who’s going to have to get to daycare to pick them up?

Besides just the anticipated stress of getting out of the house everyday I hate that the Mister won’t get as much time with the boys. He’s a-m-a-z-i-n-g with them. He carries them around the house singing and talking to them (and even though I think they’re too young for shoulder rides and gangster-rap it’s still cute to come home to that scene).  He coddles them, plays with them, snuggles with them, and just genuinely loves being home with them. I swear he’d make the best stay at home dad and I think he’d genuinely love that. But it’s not in the cards for us right now.

So, come Monday my life is about to change again and I’m not looking forward to this, very much unwanted, milestone.

Responses

  1. […] Remember when I said that the Mister, and I quote, “would make the best stay at home dad“? […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

