Posted by: Marisa | September 28, 2012

Happy Birthday

I’m putting a lot of pressure on myself to come up with something profound to say about today. The Day. I have an overwhelming sense of wanting to share what the past year has done to me; how agonizingly hard those early days were, how truly amazing it has been, how I just love being a mom, how I have finally found meaning in all of those failed fertility cycles, and how I know with such clarity that this is the life I’m supposed to be living.

I’ve thought about writing down the story of their birth or some of my favorite tender moments but, in a strange way, tonight I’m feeling selfish and I want to hold these memories close. And I’ve thought about listing out some of their 12 month milestones but telling you that L likes carrots and J climbed into another box today just seems so small and insignificant. It’s like I can’t find a common ground.

So, instead of making things complicated I’ll leave it at this:

I am truly grateful for these two Precious-Pumpkin-Angel-Coconuts.

J.E.
Born 11:30am
5lbs 6oz

L.D.
Born 12:22
6lbs 2oz

Responses

  1. Happy 1st Birthday J&L! What a wonderful year for all of us!

  2. Happy Birthday, J and L!!! What a fair and tender day to remember and celebrate! Love from Jan and Mike

  3. Happy Birthday, J and L! We are so happy to have you here. And to Mom and Dad, you did it! There are so many things you now “get”. Thank you for sharing your joy.

  4. Happy birthday!!!! Babies’ first birthdays are basically more about the parents and their experience of parenthood than they are about the babies (since they don’t remember their 1st birthdays anyway). I am looking forward to next year being in your place, one year ahead looking back. ❤

  5. Enjoy this wonderful milestone with your little miracles. they have brought such joy to us all! God blessed you greatly. Love, Aunt Sharon

  6. Ahhh, the joys of motherhood. These memories will always be gently wrapped tight in your heart, never to be forgotten. And just think all the memories and milestones which are forthcoming. You are a wonderful Mother to two precious little souls. Words are not adequate to describe the happiness your family has brought to those you touch. Yes, the angels are smiling down from heaven as happiness fills your heart reflecting on this past year. I know all our hearts have grown much more tender and our minds wiser since their birth. How could they not, since we have the most beautiful grandsons placed on this earth 🙂 🙂
    As we wished them a Happy 1st Birthday last evening, we now look forward to seeing you soon to celebrate in person. Happy Birthday J & L !!!!!! Grandpa asked this morning if he can give them ice cream —— he is always thinking ahead!!! Love, Colleen


Leave a Reply

Categories

